All Trips are able to send Automated Reminders & Confirmations, aka Messages, via email, to Registered People. These can be reminders or confirmations as detailed below.
At this time we only support email messages, SMS integration is available for an integration fee.
NOTE: Anytime you want to see if an automatic message was sent, check your Trip Activity Feed. This will alert you to the email that was sent, showing who it was sent to, the subject matter, and the click-through button (Call to Action).
You can also send Manual Messages which you can send throughout the Planner View as needed. We recommend you do this as well and not rely 100% on automated messages to improve the customer experience..
We offer customization of these templates for Enterprise clients as an add-on, all other subscriptions should find the automatic branding is sufficient.
Automated Message: Reminders
Reminders are sent by our automated system on a regular schedule based on the dates you provide on a Trip. You'll know if Auto Reminders are currently enabled by checking under the Update Trip section where the Trip Dates are set.
When no specific dates are set, Reminders are OFF, as shown:
When specific dates are entered, Reminders will be turned ON after saving, as shown:
When specific dates are set, Reminders are ON, as shown:
Who gets reminders? (Qualification)
On Trips with Auto Reminders ON, only the Registered People that qualify will receive reminders. They must:
- Status = "REGISTERED" - as shown by the green person icon in the Manage People section
- Have not received another message from YouLi in the last 24 hours - as shown by the Email Sent column in the Manage People section
- Have not completed the payment or task - as shown in the relevant sections
When do they get reminders? (Frequency)
Reminders are sent based on the Timezone of the Trip and the due date of the Task or Payment.
- 1 week prior to the due date
- on the due date
- 2 days after the due date
What kind of reminders do they get?
NOTE: Trips with Estimated Prices will not send Payment Reminders
Reminders are only enabled if Instalment Due Dates are added. If no dates are set, then NO reminders are sent. Due Date is optional for the Remaining Balance Due, but recommended to enabled Payment Reminders.
Payment reminders take priority over Task Reminders mentioned below. So if there is a Payment and a Task due on the same day, only the Payment reminder will be sent.
See the Automatic Emails sent on your behalf through YouLi for Payments, explore our Help Doc on Automatic Emails for Payments.
Be sure you turn on automatic payment reminders per installment by clicking the checkbox in the installment popup.
NOTE: Task Reminders are sent if trip dates are set and a due date is set for the task, even with Estimated Prices
Task Reminders are sent to your travelers:
- 1 week before the due date
- on the due date
- two days after the due date
See examples of automatic emails sent on your behalf through YouLi in our Help Doc on Automatic Emails for Tasks
Automated Message: Confirmations
Who gets Confirmations? (Qualification)
When Travelers Register or submit a deposit for your trip, they will get an email confirmation. All Registered Traveler will appear with an indication of their payment status and details on payments they have made in your Manage Payments Tab. Note that if someone registers, pays and then declines, they will still appear here so you can review their payments.
When do they get confirmation? (Frequency)
Confirmations are sent when travelers finish or complete a needed item.
- When they register for your trip.
- When they make a payment.
What kind of confirmation do they get?
A message is emailed after registration and shown on the Trip Page until Payment is made. You can change the default message by going to Update Trip > Settings.
This will be sent to travelers who register, whether they do so from a public trip or based on receiving an invitation email and clicking the call to action button in the footer.
A message is emailed after payment is made to confirm and thank your traveler for paying. See what these payment confirmations look like in our Automatic Emails for Payments Help Doc.
NOTE: Your travelers will receive a payment notification when they make a payment via their email, however, you also have the option to send a Tax Invoice.
For a visual walk-through, watch our help-video below:
Also, discover How To Stop Automatic Emails.
How do Email Templates work?
To save you from having to create your own emails, YouLi has created a standard set of messages in the form of templates. YouLi automatically replaces things like [Trip Name] or [Traveler Name] with the correct information for your Trip and your Travelers.
Everything becomes personalized for your Travelers automatically. When looking at the samples in this document, anything that is personal information or trip specific will be replaced. We recommend adding yourself to the trip and go through all the cases to see what your messages will look like.
How many reminders are sent?
We only send one email reminder per 24 hour period. If a Planner has sent a manual message from YouLi on the same day, the reminder will not be sent. Learn more about how to reduce reminder fatigue.
For each task or payment instalment due up to 3 reminders are sent as documented below.
You can view each of the reminders in the Activity Log on Planner view of the Trip.
Confirmation emails are sent after the relevant action has been taken, this is also logged in the Activity Log.
Who does it come from?
All emails sent from YouLi are sent using our ESP (Email Service Provider). That means it is free for our clients. We ensure they are sent in a way that avoids getting put in the spam folder, but remember that no system is perfect, so be sure to check if NOT RECEIVED.
The FROM address shows as the NAME of the Main Contact, but with the email address of "firstname.lastname@example.org". This is for deliverability reasons (to keep the email out of the spam folder).
The REPLY-TO address is the EMAIL of the Main Contact, so most of the time when a traveler replies to emails sent from YouLi it will go to the Main Contact.
Sometimes, there is an issue with the way the email is handled and the reply goes back to "email@example.com". In this case, an automated message will instruct your traveler to respond via the Trip Page. This is not common, but you can learn more about this case if you hear complaints.
What happens if they click "make an account"?
Travelers who click from the emails to "make an account" will be prompted to make a YouLi Traveler Account. This is totally optional. Learn more about the YouLi Traveler Account.